History

Viticulture would date back to the 1st century on the right bank of Gironde Estuary. The records attest that in the 12th century, the Bourg wine region already extended until the districts of Saint Ciers de Canesse and Villeneuve, so there is no doubt that vine growing on the lands known as Rousselle existed several centuries before the noble house was built.
About the “noble house of Rousselle”, its first owner seemed to be My Lord Jean de Tortaty, chevalier in the 17th century. At that time, the district of Saint Ciers de Canesse (village where Rousselle is settled) used to count only three noble houses, including Rousselle. During the renovation of the house in 2000, the date 1636 has been found engraved over the lintel of the back door. It is necessary to precise that the house, such as it looks now, reveals it has been erected in two distinct and successive periods. The back of the building is clearly the oldest, from 17th century style, while the front looks comprar levitra like a typical mansion of the 19th century. This architectural “assembly” must be the consequence of renovation, extension or modernization work, undertaken during the 19th century.

About the viticultural production of Château Rousselle, its wine was classified from 1868 by Féret and Cocks as First Bourgeois, which was the highest level of classification of the AOC. During the 19th century, Château Rousselle became a “pilot” vineyard to experiment its cellar’s modernization. However, the vines of Rousselle have not been spared by the phylloxera crisis, which reached the area around 1875.

During the 20th century, Château Rousselle has been owned by several families.
The vineyard belongs to the Lemaitre family since 1999. After searching everywhere in France, for more than two years, a vineyard with precise criterions – such as very good terroir, old vines and buildings, all in one piece property – Vincent Lemaitre “felt in love” with Château Rousselle, despite it was in a pitiful state. But in less than five years, Vincent led all the renovation works of the cellar and the house, he changed entirely the way to take care of the vines and learnt how to make his own wine with the help of an oenologist. And today, thanks to Vincent, Château Rousselle recovered its esthetical and gustative nobility.

Histoire

La viticulture sur la rive droite de l’estuaire de la Gironde, où se situe le Château Rousselle, remonterait au 1er siècle après JC. Par ailleurs les archives attestent qu’au 12ème siècle le vignoble de la région de Bourg s’étendait déjà jusqu’aux communes de Saint Ciers de Canesse et Villeneuve, il est donc certain que la culture de la vigne sur les terres du lieu-dit Rousselle existait déjà de nombreux siècles avant que le château n’y soit construit.
Concernant la «maison noble de Rousselle », son premier propriétaire semble avoir été Messire Jean de Tortaty, chevalier et conseiller du Roy au 17ème siècle. A l’époque, la commune de Saint Ciers ne comptait que 3 maisons nobles, dont Rousselle. Les gros travaux de rénovation effectués au château en 1999-2000 ont révélé la date de 1636 gravée dans la pierre du linteau de la porte arrière. Il faut préciser que le château, tel que visible aujourd’hui, a de toute évidence été érigé au cours de deux périodes distinctes et successives. L’arrière de la bâtisse est clairement la plus ancienne, de style 17ème, tandis que la façade est à l’image des maisons de maître du début 19ème. Cet « assemblage » architectural est sans doute la conséquence de travaux de rénovation, d’agrandissement ou simplement de modernisation entrepris au 19ème siècle.

Concernant la production viticole du Château Rousselle, son vin fut classé dès 1868 par le Féret and Cocks comme 1er Bourgeois, soit la plus haute distinction du classement de l’appellation. Au cours du 19ème siècle, toujours, le Château Rousselle fut une propriété viticole « pilote » où l’on expérimenta la modernisation de son chai. Cependant, les vignes de la propriété n’ont pas été épargnées par la crise de phylloxéra qui atteignit la zone vers 1875.

Au cours du 20ème siècle, le Château Rousselle a appartenu à plusieurs familles successives :…
Le vignoble appartient à la famille Lemaitre depuis 1999. Après avoir cherché pendant plus de deux ans, dans toute la France, une propriété viticole répondant à des critères précis – vignoble d’un seul tenant avec un terroir d’exception, de vieilles vignes et des bâtiments anciens – Vincent Lemaitre est tombé amoureux du Château Rousselle. La propriété était pourtant en piteux état. Mais en moins de 5 ans, Vincent a à la fois dirigé tous les travaux de rénovation des chais et de la maison, revu entièrement le mode de conduite de la vigne et appris à faire son propre vin avec l’aide d’un œnologue qui le secondait. Et aujourd’hui, grâce à Vincent, le Château Rousselle a retrouvé toute sa noblesse, tant esthétique que gustative.